Next weekend at the Kop Hill Climb will be the last opportunity to experience Dick Skipworth’s iconic Ecurie Ecosse competition collection.
There are few teams better known in the world of motorsport than the iconic blue-liveried Ecurie Ecosse, Scotland’s flagship 1950s double Le Mans winning race team founded by
David Murray in November 1951.

The team enjoyed some 68 victories across just 10 seasons, often operating on a shoestring budget.  The cooperative syndicate, running largely Jaguar sports cars prepared expertly by the legendary mechanic Wilkie Wilkinson took on and beat the best known names in world-class motor racing.  The Le Mans wins in 1956 and 1957 taken in the team’s Jaguar D-Type by Ron Flockhart, Ninian Sanderson and Ivor Bueb must stand as crowning achievements.

The list of famed drivers went on to include both Jimmy Stewart and his three-time Formula 1 World Champion brother Sir Jackie Stewart contributing greatly to the team’s international respect and while the team disbanded in 1972, its 1982 rebirth continues the tradition with its drivers competing in the British GT Championship and European Le Mans Series.

In terms of historic 1950s-1960s era race team collections, Dick Skipworth’s Ecurie Ecosse must stand as one of the most comprehensive and captivating.  The blue-livered cars, replete with the iconic Scottish team’s double-deck Commer transporter, have appeared at many of Europe’s highest-profile historic motoring events.

This September 21st-22nd, the Kop Hill Climb (Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire), itself steeped in motorsport legend, is proud to host Dick Skipworth’s Ecurie Ecosse race team collection for what is likely to be the collection’s final ever appearance. The entire collection is scheduled to appear at Bonhams December 1st sale.  Among the collection’s highlights are two sports-racing Jaguars – a ‘53 C-Type and a ‘56 D-Type and have course the famous double-deck team Commer transporter. It’s capable of carrying three cars (one inside with two on top), support crew along with on-board workshop.

The complete Dick Skipworth Ecurie Ecosse Collection appearing at this year’s
 Kop Hill Climb includes:

‘52 Jaguar XK120 Roadster – originally campaigned by Sir James Scott-Douglas.
‘53 Jaguar C-Type – originally raced by Ninian Sanderson, Jock Lawrence, Jimmy Stewart and Frank Curtis.
‘56 Jaguar D-Type – short-nose ‘D’ without the fin originally raced by Ron Flockhart.
‘59 Tojeiro-Jaguar originally campaigned by Barrie Williams.
‘60 Cooper T49 Monaco – originally campaigned, including Le Mans, by Bruce Halford, Tommy Dickson and Sir Jackie Stewart
‘61 Austin-Healey ‘Sebring’ Sprite originally raced by Ninian Sanderson and Bill Mackay.
‘62 Tojeiro-Buick Coupe – designed by John Tojeiro’s as a Le Mans 24-Hour race contender.
‘59 Commer Ecurie Ecosse Transporter.

The Kop Hill Climb (21-22 September 2013) has been organized by the Buckinghamshire Community Foundation for the benefit of charities in the greater Princes Risborough area community. For more information, please visit the official Facebook page,